Search This Blog

Monday, October 25, 2010

Where's Your Head At?

On occasion a friend, parent (most usually parent) or other family member will ask me this question, "Where's your head at?"...

Often times its rather difficult to provide a genuine response, mostly because I'm the creative type, the type that can rather easily get lost in dreams and loose track of the line where fantasy and reality meet. It's also because I'm nearing my last year of my 20's and I want to be normal...one day. By normal, I mean married (but I'd settle for life-partner) & with children: more than one (child), and at least two with my genes.

So there, I said it: The statement that no self-respecting member of L.A. society (who wants to maintain her social status) would ever profess..."Yes, I actually do want to settle down one day, and no, the idea of being your sex slave doesn't actually entice me...I just pretend it does in hopes that you'll eventually snap out of your L.A. induced intoxication of sex and fake boobs long enough to realize how awesome I am..."

Now let me also clarify another point...I am no angel, or maybe I am an angel, but a very pro-active, go-get-em kind of angel...Point being, I am not sitting at home crocheting and waiting for Prince Charming to show up at my door in his "Yummy" uniform with my home delivered groceries, a mere week before he inherits Uncle Phillipe's fortunes. I try to get out there. When guys ask me on dates I say yes and hope with all my heart that this one will be different than the rest. Did I mention that I live in L.A.?

Bio of Generic LA man:
On first glance: Great looking, well dressed, says all the right things, has a good job, good family, good education.
His secret: he is severely flawed and insecure. He makes up for these insecurities by obsessively conquering women and then moving on to a hotter/more sexy one.

Generic LA dating script:
Upon meeting:
Female: not so interested, pretty sure he'll just waste her time pretending to like her just long enough to get some action.
Male: intensely interested, would do-anything, say-anything, buy-anything to get her number.

Outcome:
the Female's friend or conscious will ultimately convince her that there is no harm in taking a chance, and she will eventually agree to give her number, or at least email/Facebook.

Date #1:
Male: behaves just well enough to give female hope that he just might be special.
Female: behaves just bad enough to give the guy hope that he just might get laid.

Outcome:
an awkward goodbye where both parties would like more, but are still too preoccupied keeping up their act...

Date #2:
Female: has already begun the fantasies of vacation get-a-ways and weekend nights at home together laughing and creating memories that don't involve excessive amounts of Grey Goose
Male: has already begun fantasies of nudity and acrobatic positions that he'll surely encounter...He read on her Facebook page that she used to be a gymnast/ ballerina...(and that she drinks Grey Goose)

Outcome:
They'll kiss and say goodnight although neither really wants to part...
Female will then decide it's safe to mention him to her friends, which will create an obsessive cycle of wondering when he'll call next...in the meantime she'll convince herself that despite [insert GIANT RED FLAG here: (obvious clue he has a girlfriend, does not have a real job, sells drugs, or has commitment issues deriving from his Daddy not loving him enough)] he could quite possibly be "the one".
Male will then decide it's ok to preemtively brag to his friends about the "hot chick (he) IS banging", after all, he figures it's not a lie if it's sure to happen soon. Having imagined the soon to occur sexual encounter, male will automatically begin to lose interest in said girl...because clearly she's a little slutty if she's already giving it up in his imagination.
Male will now most certainly wait too long to call.

Date #3: (When it finally arrives)
Female: Confused slightly by the male's apparent lack of interest between dates #2 and #3 she will make a pact with herself to do no more than a seductive goodnight kiss, as she knows better than to get involved with a man who plays games...After martini/champagne #2 she begins to rethink previous decision and comes up with a plan to surely win his heart and teach him a lesson: she'll show him the best sex he's ever had...She believes this is a great plan.
Male: Sensing a bit of reluctancy at the start, will slide in a few casual mentions of how much he can't wait for her to meet his best-friend/sister/high-school mentor. After martini/Whiskey #2 he will tell her how much he "really likes" her and thinks about her when she's not around.

Outcome:
They will end up at his place and "discover each other's secrets".
Female will convince herself he's a good guy, "after all he said he wants her to meet his family, right?"
Male will convince himself he can manage to hide all evidence of his date from the previous night without her noticing.

Neither is a correct assumption...

Female will then spend the next consecutive 2-4 weeks with her friends...crying and analyzing every detail of what she did wrong...
Male will spend the next consecutive 2-5 weeks avoiding her and randomly sending texts about how much he'd like to see her, but how busy his schedule is. This is so the male can continue on his escapades with as little guilt as possible, telling himself he truly did put forth reasonable effort. This is also to avoid any man-hating online posts from the female, divulging his true identity...That's a real buzz-kill.

Slight warning:
It is also a universal rule of thumb that no sooner does the female begin to move on and realize the reality of her previous situation (that she wasted her time, thoughts and energy on a man who was likely a D-bag) than said D-bag's instincts will kick in, he'll realize he's about to loose her for good and he'll attempt to lure her back into his web. Smart women are savvy to this and refuse, dumb women think he's actually come around and will give him another chance, and then there are women like me...Ha...I never learn.

You might wonder why we don't follow that first instinctual voice that tells us he's gonna be a waste of time...At 22 we don't listen to the instinct because we aren't sure of how amazing we really are...and at 28 we don't listen to the instinct because we aren't sure that he's sure of how amazing we really are, all the while trying to convince ourselves of it. Here's to praying we get it figured out before 30 (or 40 if we happen to be genetically blessed or can afford botox).

At this point I have probably come across as a bitter, uber-feminist extremist who only sees things in one particular light. That's not the case at all. I get it that men struggle to find a good woman, someone they can trust also. But that's just like the soldier of a country at war stating that he feels for the other country and their struggles...sure he may see their perspective, but he's still gonna fight to survive. Living in L.A., Pursuing my dreams and looking for love: yes this surely is war.

So ask me where my head's at...it's at war

No comments:

Post a Comment